IN LOVE WITH A TERRORIST I & II

IN LOVE WITH A TERRORIST (I)

image

The incessant excuses
To step out and answer a call
The hushed tones on the phone
While we were together
The regular meetings with “the boys”
Whom I never met
Should have said something to me
But they did not
Or they did but-
I wasn’t listening
Their tones were hushed too,
Or I was deafened; by love.

Hello! He’d called me that morning
Please keep your phone on throughout today
He’d pleaded
I’m going to church
I know- please…
Then just after Sunday school
He’d called again
As the song leader called the processional hymn
For the service to begin,
Please meet me at Allen junction
I’m in great danger- he panted.
The line went dead.

He was not there; neither was any other-
No sign nor traces of danger
I called and called- his phone was off
Puzzled, I hurried to his house
He was not there either.

image

IN LOVE WITH A TERRORIST II
My phone rang
My aunt from the other end of town
Where are you! I’ve called your dad and mum
We heard your church is burning…
What! Aunty, I –
I raced back to church
Alas! Our church was gone
And so was my family
The once mighty edifice, the once blissful knot
Razed down to the very foundation.

Today’s my birthday
Today my love died
What an ominous birthday gift!
He’d saved my life
Then he’d disappeared
His phone; switched off
His abode; deserted.
The bombing being investigated

News. Two days later
He was in military custody
With fellow bombers-
Or suspects as they were called
Five days later, precisely today
Even more news
He was late! Found dead in his cell
“I’m sorry Nina”- the note he left.
Then and only then did it dawn on me
I’D BEEN IN LOVE WITH A TERRORIST!

image

Leave a Reply

