LOAVES AND FISHES

     Have you heard of the story of the five loaves and two fishes? With which Jesus fed five thousand men,  asides women and children? I have. And I found it in the Holy scriptures,  in Matthew 14: 14-21. Jesus blessed and broke the loaves and divided the fishes and gave them to eat. And they were filled,  and there was surplus.
     Over the years,  this story has had different meanings with different applicable lessons to me. But until someone pointed it out recently,  I never really paid attention to the fact that the Lord Jesus fed unto the multitude – balanced diet. Yes,  balanced diet. A quick retrospect into my elementary science lessons reveals or defines balanced diet as a meal consisting of the six classes of food namely carbohydrates,  protein,  fats and oil, minerals, vitamins and water.

image
Here's my version of loaves and fishes

    

And he commanded the multitude to sit down on the grass, and took the five loaves, and the two fishes, and looking up to heaven, he blessed, and brake, and gave the loaves to his disciples, and the disciples to the multitude. Matthew 14 :19.
     What does this tell me? It tells me that God is interested in a healthy nutrition for his children. He wants them to feed well and feed properly. The fact that this was an emergency did not stop him from giving them the very best. So,  I can trust him to give me the best at all times,  even in human emergencies- for there’s never an emergency, no catching off guard with God.
On a closer analysis,  there’s:
Carbohydrates – Bread
Protein –  Fish
Fats and Oil –  Fish,  Bread. (And for mordern day canned sardine,  there’s some oil coming along)
Minerals – Fish
Vitamins – Fish
Water – Fish.
What a sumptuous meal it must have been. Little wonder the people were looking for the Lord some other time…
Jesus answered them and said, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Ye seek me, not because ye saw the miracles, but because ye did eat of the loaves, and were filled. John 6:26

The lesson here is that God has our best interests at heart at all times and He will always give us the best no matter what.
As to eating bread,  I also tried it with cheese. Fried cheese.

image
HouseofLivingstones Photography Bread and Cheese

Yummy,  isn’t it. I guess bread is food for all time and age, isn’t it?

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

