WAKING THOUGHTS

image
Source: Internet

I turn and toss and open my eyes
Its morning already, the sun’s rise steady
I twitch and close and open my eyes again
Tick tack tick tack, it’s almost five
A great task it is to get out of bed

Ere Jack! My thoughts are wandering
I shall visit the barbers’ today.
And oh! I must get to the tailors’
The sink is filled with yesterday’s dishes
And what mountain of clothes I must launder!

What shall I have for dinner, launch or breakfast?
Should I not first commune with my creator?
Yet the greatest question of all is-
To get out of bed or stay a little longer
For sleep can really be sweet and sweeter
Just at the break of dawn.

Leave a Reply

