MY NIGHT OUT AT ARTS THEATRE, UI

So I finally went to see a staged play. Yay! Now don’t get me wrong I am not excited because it was the first for me (I’ve seen several staged plays) but it was my first time at the famed Arts Theatre, University of Ibadan. Yay! Again.
The play was OUR HUSBAND HAS GONE MAD AGAIN by Ola Rotimi. I believe the event was put together by Versatile Invaders Consult (according to the ticket). The whole arena was welcoming, the audience was really cool and my view was absolutely fantastic. I wasn’t too sure about taking pictures so some of my favorite moments passed undocumented (lol). I finally dared to take some pictures which were not too good no thanks to my tablet (I’m all for quality when it comes to pictures) but I’ll share them anyways

image

image

image

image

image

Those were taken before a guy from the back accosted me and informed me the rule was not to record the play
Whoever said I was recording! 😕 I was only taking pictures. Told my friend I’d ask about photo taking rights next time before buying a ticket.
Not to forget, Our Husband Has Gone Mad Again is a play about the authoritarian, impulsive and unpredictable Major Lejoka Brown, a politician cum husband to three wives, and his domestic and political affairs. It’s much more than that but you’d have to click here for the plot/storyline. http://www.afridiziak.com/theatrenews/reviews/dec2012/our-husband-has-gone-mad-again.html
This play challenges the societal stereotype of a male dominated polity, examines the need of truthfulness and deference for each other among spouses, talks about the importance of education and empowerment at all levels, ethnic and religious tolerance…
I did take some other pictures too.

image

image

image

image

For me,  the sharp mouthed Sikira was the best actress for the night. With all her funny pronunciations (Amrika for America, Mom Roshi for Mummy Rosheedat) and her contemptuous singing and belligerence was just so hilarious. And her accentuated features too? (deceiving at first)
The costume was cool,  the lighting perfect and the cast, ✔✔

image

image

They never did show us Freedom,  the snake though. 😁😁
It was a good seeing in all, my three hundred naira was worth it.
😁😁

image

I stumbled on this much later…

‪234-813-126-6368‬-20160706_181640.jpg.jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

