When You Say ‘I Love You’

image

When you say ‘I love you’
What do you mean?
Or is it just the cliché cadence to a phone call?
When you say ‘I love you’
What do you mean?
Or is it just a hackneyed subject verb object arrangement?
When you say ‘I love you’
What do you mean?
Or is it just so I’ll never leave you?
When you say ‘I love you’
What do you really mean?

When you say ‘I love you’
What do you mean?
Or is it so I’ll make your meals and do your laundry?
When you say ‘I love you’
What do you mean?
Or do you just need a date and bed partner?
When you say ‘I love you’
What do you mean?
Or is it so I’ll bear your seed and perpetuate your name?
When you say ‘I love you’
What do you really mean?

When you say ‘I love you’
You better mean it ‘cos I’m watching
I’m reading your signs and following your cues
I won’t be taking each word for granted
I’ll be holding you accountable
I’ll be taking you up on each word
So when you say to me ‘I love you’
You better love me indeed.

Leave a Reply

